Do You Know a UCR Alumnus or Alumna that Deserves Recognition?

Alumni-LogoSince 1986, the UCR Alumni Association Awards of Distinction program has honored UCR graduates who personify the University’s tradition of excellence and service.

The Association recognizes outstanding alumni in the following categories:

Distinguished Alumnus Award

The most prestigious of the honors bestowed by the UCR Alumni Association. The award is based on national and international distinction in one’s field and significant contribution to humankind. Previous recipients include:

Example of past recipient: Virginia Phillips ’79, United States District Court Judge; made the historic ruling on “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

Presented to alumni under the age of 35 with a significant record of career and/or civic achievement and promise in their profession.

Example of past recipient: Shah Selbe ’04, National Geographic Explorer.

Alumni Service Award

Honors superior service in the public sector or a sustained pattern of volunteer service in the community or arts for the benefit of UCR that has positively represented the University and fellow citizens.

Example of past recipient: Christine Sato-Yamazaki ’92, Chairperson for the National Veterans Network.


A list of past recipients can be found on the Alumni Association website.

Deadline to nominate for the 2015 Awards of Distinction is March 13, 2015. Nominations for each award are accepted here.

For questions, please contact Kristin Seiler at


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: